Tuesday Night Digital Voice (DV) Net

St. Joseph County RACES & Michiana Amateur Radio Club

7:30 pm Eastern Time (after the RACES Tuesday night net)

You won't need to do anything special to join the DV Net if you have either a D-Star, DMR, or System Fusion radio!

We will be using the QuadNet Array (https://www.openquad.net/), which handles “crossbanding” for all three Digital Voice modes.

D-Star Instructions

If you are using a D-STAR reflector, connect to one of the following:

     XRF757A in Atlanta or,

     XLX735A in New York or,

     XLX307D in Wyoming or,

     XLX049D in Northern Ireland

DMR Instructions

If you are using any DMR radio connect to Brandmeister DMR and use

     Brandmeister talkgroup 31012 or,

     DMRGateway to XLX307 or,

     DMR+ Reflector 4541

 

System Fusion Instructions

If you are using a System Fusion radio use

     reflector 37099

Wires-X Instructions

If you are using Wires-X, you should use

   room 45058.

All of these reflectors, talkgroups, and rooms are interlinked, so if you are on one, you will be able to hear activity from any of the others. See openquad.net for more complete information on using the Quadnet Array.

You are not tethered to a physical repeater or geographical location; you may check into the net from anywhere your hotspot is operative. That means you may be stationary at home using your residential WiFi connection, mobile in a car using your smartphone’s hotspot, or in any public location where either WiFi or a cell connection is available!

Other DV Nets Available on the QuadNet Array:

The QCWA D-STAR Net happens every Sunday night at 5:00 PM US eastern time (21:00 UTC DST; 22:00 UTC standard). Net control will be Daryl, WX4QZ. One does not have to be part of the Quarter Century Wireless Association to check-in.

The Young Operators Digital Voice Net happens every Sunday night at 7:00 PM US eastern time (23:00 UTC DST; 00:00 UTC standard). Net control will be Danielle KE8JNU (10 years old, Extra class operator). This net is geared toward topics of interest for school-age young people, either licensed or 3rd party with a licensed operator present. But even though this is focused on younger operators, all are welcome to participate. The goal is to enhance the discussion of ideas while fostering the development of operating principles and techniques for young people.

The Amateur Radio RVer Net happens every Sunday night at 9:30 pm ET (01:30 UTC DST, 02:30 UTC standard). We are going to try a weekly net for those amateur radio operators who also enjoy the RV lifestyle or for those thinking about it and needing more information about the RV lifestyle. The original net was started by Eric Udell, KN4MCE on Brandmeister DMR TG 31652. Seeking a wider audience we were granted a time slot on the Quadnet Array. The Brandmeister DMR TG 31652 will still be available for one on one QSOs between RVers. Sunday evening was selected since many RVers are already parked and making plans for upcoming trips. The net forum will emphasize amateur radio installations and operations pertinent to RVers. We will discuss travel suggestions as well as weather and road hazard information pertinent to RVers. With respect to RVs, discussions will be generic and not brand specific. RV lifestyle and general maintenance tips will be discussed. As a resource, we do participate on the Amateur Radio RVers Facebook page.

The Amateur Astronomy Digital Voice Net happens every Wednesday evening at 9:00 PM US eastern time (01:00 UTC DST; 02:00 UTC standard). Net control will be Jason N8XE. This net is focused on amateur astronomy topics such as observing, imaging, telescope making, telescopes, binoculars, and other general astronomy topics. If you are an active amateur astronomer, or just enjoy looking up at the heavens, please join the conversation. The first Wednesday of every month will focus on those who are new to amateur astronomy or looking to get started.

The Ham Nation After Show Net happens every Wednesday evening at 10:00 PM US eastern time (02:00 UTC DST; 03:00 UTC standard). Any and all licensed amateur radio operators are welcome to join us to talk about topics covered during the show. Net control stations are Andrew WA8LIV, Craig KC8VJK, and Steve K8SAS. Ham Nation Website

The K5TAL - TALARC Net happens every Thursday evening at 7:00 PM US central time (23:00 UTC DST; 00:00 UTC standard). K5TAL is the club call of American Legion Post 1992, Gautier-Vancleave, MS. TALARC is the American Legion Amateur Radio Club. All hams are invited to check into the net and you do not have to be a veteran to check-in. Operated as a means to communicate with other vets/hams regardless of the DV mode they have.

The Trains Net happens every Friday at 8:00 PM eastern time (00:00 UTC DST, 01:00 UTC standard). Net control will be Daryl, WX4QZ. It will discuss anything and everything related to trains and railroading, along with a railroad trivia question.

The Multi-Mode Digital Voice Net run by Jeff VE6DV happens every Saturday at 4:00 PM US mountain time (22:00 UTC DST; 23:00 UTC standard). If you can't make it to the net live, you can catch a recording of the previous week's net at Soundcloud. If you are a Facebook user, check out the D-STAR Users group and join in on the discussion there.

The Food Net happens the first Saturday of the month at 8:00 PM US eastern time (00:00 UTC DST; 01:00 UTC standard). Net control will be Daryl, WX4QZ. H.A.M. stands for "Have Another Meal," and you don't call us late for dinner!! And considering both Field Day operations, and hamfests, you need to keep the operators and visitors happy, and not hungry.